About Us


Our Offficers Are Here to Help

The USC Beaufort Police officers are sworn and certified officers with comprehensive arrest powers in the state of South Carolina. University police officers have the authority to enforce all state laws throughout the state. The University Police Officers are also appointed and commissioned as State Constables by the Governor of South Carolina as provided by Title 23, Chapter 1, Article 60, Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976, as amended.

The Department of Public Safety is supervised by the Vice Chancellor for Finance and Operations.

USC- Beaufort Police Department Mission Statement:

"The University of South Carolina Beaufort Police Department provides professional law enforcement support to the University students, staff and faculty in order to provide a safe and secure environment in which to study, learn, and work through the efficient use of resources."

Meet Hannah Salus: Student Intern

The University of South Carolina Beaufort Police Department employs part time student workers who help the officers and learn about a career in law enforcement.

Public Safety Department Contact & Personnel

General questions and concerns can be addressed at publicsafety@uscb.edu.

D. Henry Garbade JR.
Director of Public Safety / Chief of Police
(843) 208-8912
hgarbade@uscb.edu

Jordan Mole
Assistant Chief of Police
843-208-8912
jmole@uscb.edu

Erik Salus
Lieutenant-Clery Compliance Administrator
843-208-8912
esalus@uscb.edu

William Winn Jr.
Emergency Management Coordinator
843-208-8912
wwinn@uscb.edu

The following USC Beaufort Police Department operational staff members are available to assist you.   (24/7 Duty Phone numbers: Bluffton 843-208-8911, Beaufort 843-812-8186, Hilton Head 843-208-4911)

Sgt. Robert Bilyard (Beaufort Supervisor 843-812-8186) bilyard@uscb.edu
Sgt. Bruce Oliver 
(Hilton Head Supervisor 843-208-4911) oliverw@uscb.edu
Sgt. Sheldon Epstein
(Bluffton Supervisor 843-208-8916) saepstei@uscb.edu
Cpl. Theodore Daise IV (Training Coordinator 843-812-8186) daise2@uscb.edu
Victim's Advocate Jack Adelman
 (Victim's Services 843-208-8912) adelman@uscb.edu

Title IX Coordinator:
Deonne Yeager (1-843-208-8723) deonne@uscb.edu